I didn’t have to sell anything, but I don’t want to add more issues to the portfolio. Yamana Gold, AUY, had become one of the lower ranked issues within my database, even though ABX was ranked lower still, it’s the largest and most widely followed and traded. So I determined that for timing and technical analysis purposes, as one stock that can serve to represent the entire sector, I would retain it in the portfolio.

DRD is South African, but has a very different business model, as my previous post detailed. I rather like the difference, it makes me want to own it all the more. I sold AUY and used the proceeds to acquire DRD.

Should prices decline, and I am able to discern a low-risk entry opportunity with the OEXpert 7 Timer, I will add more to some of my positions, and increase my exposure to the gold and silver mining sector. Likewise, should I catch the metals and miners breaking out into new price highs and on expanding volume, like I was able to do on Friday, April 8, I’d like to become more involved in that circumstance, as well.

Here’s to your accumulation of real wealth!
Harold F Crowell

Leave a Reply

